Home Key Dates News Accommodation Registration HCS Contact Sitemap

About Meeting

About Treaty About ATCM Key Dates Venue

About Host Country

Practical Information

For Delegates

Home  >  About Meeting  >  About ATCM

The Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) is the annual meeting of the representatives of the Contracting Parties "for the purpose of exchanging information, consulting together on matters of common interest pertaining to Antarctica, and formulating and considering, and recommending to their Governments, measures in furtherance of the principles and objectives of the treaty" (Art. IX).


The ATCM meets annually and is hosted by a Consultative Party according to the alphabetical order of their names in English. The ATCM participants include representatives from:


  • The 29 Consultative Parties, namely Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea (ROK), Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States and Uruguay;


  • The 24 non Consultative Parties: Austria, Belarus, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Korea (DPRK), Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Switzerland, Turkey and Venezuela;


  • The 3 Observers: The Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR), the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP), and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR); and


  • The invited Experts: the Secretariat of the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP), the Antarctic and Southern Ocean Coalition (ASOC), the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO), the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO), the International Maritime Organization (IMO), the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), and the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).


The ATCM is chaired by a representative of the host country. Between the opening and closing plenary sessions, most of the meeting takes place in the framework of the Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP) and the Working Groups that may be established. There will be two Working Groups at ATCM XL:

  • Working Group on Policy, Legal and Institutional Affairs;


  • Working Group on Science, Operations and Tourism.


The conduct of the meeting is supported by the Antarctic Treaty Secretariat (ATS), which is based in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Secretariat and the host country collaborate closely in the organization of the meeting in order to achieve a successful outcome.